Welcome / Golden Kernel

Golden Kernel

Who will the 2018 Golden Kernel be?


The 2016 Golden Kernel was Bob Boll


Is there a person you know that has gone above and beyond the call of duty as a citizen of North Ridgeville? Is there someone involved in several different organizations making the city a better place to live? If so, the North Ridgeville Corn Festival Committee would like to recognize them! The Committee is looking for nominations for the annual Golden Kernel award.

Started in 1991, this award is presented to North Ridgeville residents that has been involved in the community and made it a better place to live. Nominations will be reviewed by the North Ridgeville Corn Festival Committee and the winners is announced on Friday at the North Ridgeville Corn Festival Opening Ceremonies. 

Nominations are taken from the public. We encourage you to nominate! Nominations from the public constitute those under consideration each year. Nominees submitted from previous year who have not received the award are held for consideration the following years. The Committee does NOT enter names into nomination. All eligible nominees come from you the public! If you have questions or concerns please contact us we are happy to to answer your questions. Thank to everyone who makes the time to nominate! 

Past Winners Include:

1991 Urban Buescher 2002 Warren Blakely
1991 Lois Sullivan 2002 Marcella Baldauf
1991 Sandy Gast 2003 Gene Kleinholz
1991 Walter “Skip” Hoffstetter 2003 Margaret Truman
1992 Bernard Noll 2004 Russell Sigsworth
1992 Marian Gardner-Stafford 2004 Pat Hadaway
1993 Dorothy, Harry Painter 2005 Catherine, Vincent Farrell
1993 Norm Gerhart 2006 Carol, Thomas Klear
1993 June Yost 2007 Mary Zacharias
1994 Lorna, Harold Sweet 2007 Bryan Vidler
1995 Marge, Don Baker 2008 Jessie Lawell
1996 Mel McGlaughlin 2008 Mary Ann Serazin
1996 Nancy Franks 2009 Andy Steirer
1997 Gail Minnich 2010 Chuck Bowman
1997 Chuck Robison 2011 Betty Lou Palmer
1998 Dorothy, Raymond Grega 2012 Robert Schmittgen
1999 Regina Comerford 2013 John Kapelka
2000 Richard Noll 2014 Robert Kirkpatrick
2000 Nancy Bowman 2015 James Hurst
2001 Raymond Diederich 2016 Bob Boll
2001 Loyola Diederich 2017 Jo-Ell Jacobson